Kodaiji Temple, Kyoto

Kodaiji Temple

Kodaiji Temple

Kodaiji Temple

History

Kodaiji Temple, formally called Kodaijusho-senji, is located like so many others in the Higashiyama, a little south of Yasaka Shrine and right next to Ryozen Kannon.
It was founded in 1605 by Kita-no-Mandokoro as a memorial to her husband, Toyotomi Hideyoshi.
Its construction was largely financed by the Shogun, Tokugawa Ieyasu.
The end result was a temple famous for its magnificent designs and exquisite work.
In 1624, Sanko Joei, the abbot of Kenninji Temple, was appointed as the founding priest, and thus Kodaiji became the largest and most important sub-temple of Kennninji.

Information

Access:
From Higashiyama-Yasui bus stop
Entrance fee:
Adult 600 yen, junior and senior high school student 250 yen
Hours:
From 9:00 to 17:30 (last entry 17:00)